RX78 Wip Phase 2

After 3 hours of solid sanding, seamline removal and a healthy does of top coat I am very happy with the results. However there were a few hiccups but nevertheless I am very satisfied with using this method for out of box builds!!

Now my first hiccup was the seamline in bazooka. This was a terrible one as the whitish colors showed. Guess this method doesn’t work really well with long length areas.

However it works pretty well with the rifle instead. Must deal with such inconsistencies in the future. Perhaps use the thick cement instead.

However, I under estimated my forearm strength and actually tore off the barrel of the rifle. So to salvage to situation, I took a 2mm and 1.5 mm drill and created a bore in the rifle and it now looks like a shorten beam rifle instead ^^;;

Also painted some parts with the gold gundam marker like pistons.

After just one layer of top coat…i get a very very nice looking flat red.

And the blue also turned out fantastically well!

Ah the glory of an RX78 in my very own room ^^. Now my collection feels complete in a way πŸ˜€

Well now to wait for another day to do the photoshoot ^^. Will also update the no paint guide accordingly later when I have the time. Well this concludes my no paint experiment which I think will be very ideal for monocolored kits like HGUC Unicorn ^^ Top coat is a must to even out the sanding as some spots might be a bit whitish due to the seamline removal. But still despite the mishaps I am very happy with the overall result πŸ˜€

Till the next experiment!

29 thoughts on “RX78 Wip Phase 2

    • Amuro takes out chain and sends it towards char…..wraps around his neck….

      Char : Choking…..

      Amuro : My rifle maybe short…but I still have my chain hammer!!!

    • Lol nah actually done sanding with him but now making the swords so will update together with the swords when that is done πŸ˜€

  1. Looks great! Submit that to the annual HK ACG gunpla competition, lol πŸ˜€
    That was rather incredible though, you tore off the barrel ^^;? My raw strength is usually unable to damage my gunpla even if I tried >.> Unless I have a design knife in hand, of course.
    I think the white bazooka is actually an interesting touch though. I mean, the Gundam is largely white anyhow, so why not?

    • Lol nah this standard can’t pass in there man lol πŸ˜€ Man all that training….I was sanding halfway till i realize heh…why is this white streak passing through the barrel and the next thing you know…crack…..argh…

      I tried to glue it back but apparently it got worse lol.. so I just tore the whole thing off instead.

      Maybe i’ll repaint that bazooka πŸ˜€ Thanks!!

  2. wooahh.. nice RX-78! ahah.. i jus asked tako today where’s hers.. lolx. >.< as usual.. love your effort of making it seamline-free and without stickies! XD why is everybody so fast in making gunpla.. i honestly think that im uber slow.. 3 hours?? i think i can only finish a section in that period..

    anyway.. looking forward to your HGUC!! =D see ya ard chubbs… maybe getting the 1/48 RX-78-2.. =P

    ren.

    • Thanks man πŸ˜€ Lol omg I forgot about Tako’s gunpla…..very long time ago…. I did use one sticker but thats for the eyes so its almost stickies free ^^;;

      Fwah the 1/48 RX78-2….thats like the largest kit you can ever get…..that one i must see in person lol!!

    • Haha submachinegun!! Kinda true now that I look at it again πŸ˜€

      Absolutely right about that last point ^^ You need the grand daddy of all gunpla to count your collection complete XD

  3. It looks great! too bad about the rifle but I must say that unless you’re a Gundam fan it wont be noticeable to many πŸ˜‰

    • Haha but most of the people here are lol!!! Now I have a mini submachine gun πŸ˜€

      At least its better than going without any beam rifle ^^

  4. woot great job! like how the colors turned out with the sanding and top coat, looks awesome ^^ very interesting side effect with the bazooka though o.O

    you heard of sawed off shot guns? you just made a sawed off beam rifle Lol

    Gundam, Ikimasu!!

    • Thanks bro, its my first time trying this out so its like uber flat with just one coat ^^ (yes i save on both paint and top coat!!) Actually the bazooka turning a bit white at the top was due to my seamline removal.

      Lol sawed off shotguns…hmm…that could be an interesting weapon mod πŸ˜€

  5. Pingback: RX78 Group Build now Open… Forever! XD *updated 3/7/2010* « Rock Lee's Lotus

    • Thank you man πŸ˜€ Its a must to have him build at least for a complete collection ^^ Feels kind of empty without this iconic gundam on my table haha.

  6. LOL, your weightlifting training is too intenese ^^
    very nice result though this one is not painted, you a master of no paint technique, haha

    what happened to the bazooka chubb?

    • lol pump too much…10kg dumbbells are a killer πŸ˜€ but good for power sanding haha!!! I’ll probably only use this for this already very good kits that don’t require much seam lines. Other than that the rest will still have to be painted πŸ˜€

      Ah the top part of the bazooka had white discolorations which I can’t get rid off. Probably have to paint the bazooka…

    • Haha gundam godfather lol!!! Like the way you put it πŸ˜€ Heh he is the godfather, deserves all the sanding he can get!!

Leave a Reply

