AFA 09 Part 1 : Cosplays Galore!!!

Today marks the beginning of AFA09. I previous attended AFA08 last year and regrettably I did not bring my camera along (didn’t have my blog back then lol!!) so this time round I am not going to miss the chance for such a great photography opportunity. Armed with my trusty permanently loaned Sony Cybershot Digicam I head out for the unknown…

Cosplay has been a stable feature for most of the events. Even in the recent Gundam fiesta and this year’s STGCC, cosplayers are always around to spice up the events ^^ This year for AFA09 its is even bigger than before! Hope you guys don’t mind the grainy pictures…somehow I still have a lot to learn about taking photos of people (plus the cosplayers are a beautiful bunch πŸ˜€ Can’t keep your eyes off their awesome costumes and get ups!) Plus the range from Jason from friday the 13th, Transformers, Gundams to popular characters like Ichigo from Bleach, Ranka from macross frontier…and so many others…I am losing count here!

The entire bleach gang πŸ˜€ Wait is that Renji taking a break behind??

Bankai!

Don’t they look lovely! Love the whole get up…

This guy is really in character….look at those claws

My favorite shot πŸ˜€ I look that angelic look of her face with that pink hair..

Another one of my favorite photos…

A close shot of the couple πŸ˜€

I love their head gear and looks…

Itachi decides to pay AFA09 a visit. Naruto and gang engage!

I remember these characters were based off a video game..

Hastune Miku!!

Sheryl Nome!

Alto spotted!

Love the look! (Damn my noobish camera skill…so grainy argh!!)

She is one sweet looking girl…

Her costume is very nicely done πŸ˜€ Love this pose too!

The pirate crew from one piece….too bad I can’t get a front shot..too many people!!

Full metal alchemist πŸ˜€

Lol….will the real Ranka and Sheryl please stand up!

I had a blast taking all these photos outside the event hall πŸ˜€ Stayed closed to 3 hours but never a tired moment. Could really feel the fun and wonderful otaku atmosphere πŸ˜€ Its a good experience for me to hone my people photos lol…so different from taking gundam pictures ( I can just move the kit at will haha). Stay tune for the 2nd part where I’ll cover the Gunpla, figmas and Nendoriods on display within the halls ^^ Before I go…there was one Gundam cosplayer

…..

…..

…..

…..

…..

WTF!!!! Lol RX78-2…..I don’t know whether to cry or laugh..

Well till the next post!

Stay tuned for part 2 πŸ˜€

34 thoughts on “AFA 09 Part 1 : Cosplays Galore!!!

    • I did take the pictures of the gundams on display.. but there weren’t any sales I am afraid. Everything is sold at regular price. Will cover the gundams in part 2 πŸ˜€

  1. Good job bro, should post more πŸ˜‰ too bad i can’t attend this even’t, had booked my ticket to singapore on 28th few months ago… T_T sob sob. Damn i miss it…

    Actually had ask my friend to help me get the otacool book, but he is not free.. sigh… Do you know where can i get that book? beside the event.

    • Haha don’t worry, I have more pictures..just need time to edit out my bad photography!! Ah so sorry to hear you can’t come…really a great event (though a bit pricey…) but still really worth it πŸ˜€

      Hmm i’ll keep a look out for you on that. Probably the best place to look out for will be Kinokuniya. I’ll let you know if I have see it at the store.

  2. LMAO, looks like his friend(I think) is happy to be with the one and only “Gundam”!

    Too bad I don’t live at Singapore nor live nearby, would love to go there if I had the chance. D=

    • Haha according to Zhijian he said that there was Arthun and Luna maria walking around….but ya this is the only walking mech at the whole event πŸ˜€ Maybe you can check out next year instead ^^ I am sure there will be an AFA10 coming up. The response is too good…

    • Yep it is a cardboard gun lol….
      It is really a fun experience. First time for me taking photoshots of cosplayers. To be honest I generally watch only mainly gundam anime so I couldn’t recognize most of them haha…but couldn’t resist taking all these wonderful costumes!

  3. I thought there was a OO Raiser at the event. XD Not the PG one, but the same cosplayer who did Strike Freedom in that Gundam event in Compass Point. Apparently he and his team mate won the Cosplay Competition. Haven’t seen any pics of him so far though…

    Great photos!! Nice to see FMA cosplayers back again. And looks like the standard of cosplay has risen in these few years. xD Looking forward to part 2 =DDD

  4. The RX 78-2 is THE BEST cosplay evar~! (do note the mispelling).

    If got a chance to do it, I’d be the white Stig from Top Gear (anonymous, obedient, silent and mysterious) .

    • Lol…..and the cheapest one too….(cardboard with a printed RX78 face!)

      I think the only one I can really cosplay (if i ever get to that) is Chouji from Naruto….( I do has his size lol!)

    • Ranka and sheryl are very popular this year lol πŸ˜€ I spotted close to 8 different Rankas! I only see 2 Alto though lol πŸ˜€ He is very lucky this time haha. You also into cosplay?

  5. Most of the time I was inside the hall. Seems like the cosplay area is fun. I should have spent some time to look at the girls ^^.

    • The girls are DA main thing lol πŸ˜€ In fact the cosplay area is below one floor not in the hall itself! I took nearly all the cosplay photos there! It was very fun taking photos of them πŸ˜€

    • Lol he was there last year haha man must have missed him! Well he does have a decent rifle lol πŸ˜€ Thanks for the linkup dude ^^

Leave a Reply

