Gundam Photography – Experimenting with lights! Ikimasu!

Spacetieren1I read this intersting article from Lupes about the importance of lighting. For his current setup he uses a table lamp during his photoshoots ^^. I previously used a table lamp to photograph my kits in this article. This time round I’ll be experimenting with different type of lighting and its makes for some very interesting effects ^^

This is my HG 1/144 Sergei’s Space Tieren. Its just a simple snap fit and top coated suit^^. Anyway I realised I haven’t taken any pictures of him as of yet so well it goes! Experiment starto!

lighting1I used a red colored plastic bag to wrap around the lamp. This helps to reduce the light glare and give a slight pink hue.

Spacetieren3Argh not a very good shot I am afraid! Too over exposed hmm hopefully the next one will be better!

Spacetieren4Ahh much better! I focus my attention on the weapon in this shot.

Spacetieren6I love this in your face shot πŸ˜€

Spacetieren7

Spacetieren9

Well thats all for the first set up^^. Now for the second set up I’ll use something really different πŸ˜€ I wrap a green card board paper around my lamp the effects are really different! This time round I’ll be using my HG 1/144 Gadessa.

gadessa4

gadessa3

gadessa1

gadessa5

gadessa7

gadessa6

gadessa2

Well thats all for this little experiment with lighting! I think its really worthwhile to try experimenting not only with different angles but also lighting for our gundams ^^.

Try out something new today, you never know what to expect!

Till the next post!

20 thoughts on “Gundam Photography – Experimenting with lights! Ikimasu!

  1. wow… nice use of unused plastic bag XD… must save some!!~ lol.. I dont have table lamp.. so I usually use usual short Kalimantang lamp, wrapped with photostat paper lol, I did DIY Macro Studio, but too lazy to take out and set it up lol, nowadays I dont even use the short kalimantang lamp, just random shot (for WIP) due lazy and.. bz lol. I’ll have proper photoshot after done my HG XN 00 Raiser Custom.. still thinking bout the unit name lol

    • Actually I couldn’t find anything to wrap just now and happen I have that sitting on my table ^^. Thats what I call recycling haha. Most of the time I take my pictures outdoors in natural light. I find that set up is the easiest to take pictures plus they come out crisp and clear. Wow you got your own macro studio! Cool! Maybe XN 00 T.K custom? Haha just my 2 cents πŸ˜€ Look forward to your first air brushed kit ^^

    • I did try with a thin white T shirt ^^. You can change it with other colors. Think it will make for a wonderful experiment with lights!

  2. thats so cool to get a different color by using cardboard paper! Gadessa created green GN particles?! ^^ ive been trying this too but my havent found a strong enough lamp so my pictures come out too dark.

    one thing to do is place a mirror on the opposite side of the lamp to reflect the light and fill in the darker areas on the model, i didnt have a big enough mirror so i used the shiny side of a pla plate sheet lol doesnt work too well but its something lol

    • Well I thought I could get the Halloween vibe lol! I didn’t have red so I tried using this green. Turned out quite differently from what I expected! thanks for the tip on the mirror! I’ll use that for my next shooting ^^ and shiny pla plates are a good alternative haha.

    • The possibilities are endless! Photography is quite an interesting avenue to expend our gunpla experience haha πŸ˜€ Do it out!

  3. Hey! This is Marzz here! I have a blog now, check it out! πŸ™‚
    PS: Anyone knows how to change the pic at the top of the blog?
    Or how to add to blogroll? I am still new at this stuff so help is greatly appreciated! πŸ™‚

    • Nice ^^. Glad you start one. The change the picture at the top go under the heading appearance. You should be able to find the word custom header. Just upload a picture and you can change your heading. As for the blogroll go under links and then add new ^^. Get all the address then copy and paste individually.

Leave a Reply

